Moses Ling with fifth-year architectural engineering students

Scholarships and Awards

Scholarship recipients are announced during the summer of each year. Awards are deposited into student tuition accounts for the following fall and spring semesters.

Scholarships are available to students in all architectural engineering options and some special study areas, but most scholarships are only available to third- and fourth-year students. An application form will be distributed to all AE students, and students who apply will be considered for all scholarships that they qualify for based on award criteria.

First- and second-year AE students are encouraged to apply for scholarships through the Penn State Office of Student Aid. There are several university- and college-level scholarships available that are not processed through the AE department committee.

In addition to need-based scholarships, students can receive awards based on performance or experience. Award amounts vary from $500 to full tuition. Some scholarships available to fourth-year students may also include an offer of summer employment with the sponsoring firm.

Forms to Complete

  1. Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA)
    • Deadline: This financial form should be filed as soon as possible after January 1 and no later than April 1 for AE scholarship purposes.
    • Students must complete this form for any scholarship that includes a financial requirement. If you have questions about the FAFSA form, please contact the Office of Student Aid by phone at 814-865-6301.
  2. Department of Architectural Engineering Scholarship Application
    • Deadline: 2021-22 AE Scholarship applications are due April 15, 2021.
    • To apply, students must complete the AE Scholarship Application Form and email a copy in .pdf format to Barbi Emel at

Department of Architectural Engineering Endowed Scholarships

  • Gladys M. Baird Memorial Scholarship
  • James W. Bathgate Memorial Scholarship in Architectural Engineering and Chemical Engineering
  • Laraine and Jack Beiter Excellence Endowment Scholarship in Architectural Engineering
  • George L. and Hattie Burchlaw Trustee Scholarship
  • Charles A. Merica Memorial Scholarship sponsored by Clark Construction Group
  • Martin U. Dougherty Endowed Scholarship in AE
  • EwingCole Scholarship
  • Professor John Flynn Memorial Scholarship
  • Louis and Judy Geschwindner Endowed Scholarship
  • Ralph Petrino/Gilbane Building Company Award in AE
  • Robert J. McNamara Scholarship
  • McKamish Endowed Scholarship in AE
  • McKamish Family Trustee Scholarship
  • Professor Vincent Pass Scholarship sponsored by Joseph and Marlene Borda
  • Melvin H. Peters Endowed Scholarship
  • James M. Pohlen Memorial Scholarship
  • John R. Potter Memorial Scholarship
  • Franklin Ruth Memorial Scholarship
  • H.O. Smith Memorial Scholarship in AE
  • H.O. Smith Trustee Scholarship
  • Professor C. Herbert Wheeler Scholarship sponsored by Joseph & Marlene Borda
  • Sharron E. Williams Memorial Award
  • Michael J. and Virginia A. Youchak Scholarship
  • SmithGroup Scholarship Honoring George P. Karidis, Innovator
  • M. Dean and Jean L. Underwood Scholarship in Architectural Engineering

Department of Architectural Engineering Annual Gift Scholarships

  • AE Scholarship in Memory of Patrick Zuza sponsored by Daniel McGee
  • Barton Malow Fellowship in AE
  • Beabout Study Abroad Scholarship in AE
  • Bechtel Corporation Scholarship in AE
  • Borda and Fernsler Families Scholarship
  • BR + A Consulting Engineers – Professor Jack Everetts and Professor Melvin Isenberg Memorial Scholarships, sponsored by Eugene Bard
  • Cagley & Associates Scholarships
  • Clark Construction Group Scholarship
  • P.J. Dick Scholarship
  • AE Class of 1975 Scholarship
  • Herbert Duffield LLC Scholarship
  • Illumination Engineering Society - Philadelphia Section Scholarship
  • Peerless Lighting Scholarship
  • Pittsburgh Builders Exchange Scholarships
  • Ryan Biggs Assoc. Scholarship
  • Simpson Gumpertz & Heger Scholarship
  • Stantec Scholarship in AE
  • SmithGroupJJR Scholarship

Annual Awards

  • John J. Brinjac Memorial Award – Outstanding 5 Year Performance and Record of Study in AE; sponsored by Brinjac Engineering Inc
  • Cannon Design Outstanding Record of Study in Mechanical in the 5th year Class and Outstanding Performance in Mechanical in the 4th Year Class
  • Outstanding Performance in Lighting/Electrical in the 4th Year AE Class
  • James G. Davis Construction – Outstanding Capstone Project Electronic Portfolio (CPEP)
  • Forrester Construction Ethics Award
  • Hettema Leadership Awards – Sponsored by Turner Construction
  • Holbert Apple Associates – Outstanding Performance in Structures in the 4th Year AE Class
  • Michael J. Horman Memorial Award sponsored by Hensel Phelps
  • Howard and Callie Kingsbury Award for Excellence in Architectural Acoustics
  • Gershon Meckler Memorial Award – Innovative Building Mechanical System Design; sponsored by Dr. and Mrs. Barry Weinstein
  • Charles A. Merica Award – Clark Construction Group
  • PACE Group – Outstanding Performance in CM – 4th year AE Class
  • PACE Group – Outstanding Record of Study in CM – 5th year Class
  • Peerless Lighting Award – Outstanding Record of Study in Illumination – 5th year
  • PSPE/PEPP – Professional Practice Award
  • Thornton Tomasetti – Outstanding Record of Study in Structures – 5th year
  • FE Exam Support Award 

Senior Thesis Awards

  • 1st Place Mechanical Thesis sponsored by William Glassmyer
  • Acuity Brands Lighting – 1st Place Lighting/Electrical Thesis in Memory of Mickey Woods
  • Balfour Beatty – 2nd Place CM Senior Thesis
  • Barton Associates – 2nd Place Mechanical Thesis
  • Barton Associates – 2nd Place Lighting/Electrical Thesis
  • Barton Malow Company – 1st Place CM Senior Thesis
  • Cagley & Associates – 1st Place Structural Thesis
  • Hope Furrer and Associates – 2nd Place Structural Thesis
  • PSPE/PEPP – Best Overall AE Senior Thesis
  • Southland Industries – Outstanding Senior Thesis in the Area of Specialty Construction


Widely acknowledged as one of the top Architectural Engineering programs in the world, the Penn State AE Department is dedicated to providing outstanding academic excellence to all of our students. The AE program is focused on preparing students and conducting research in the design, engineering, and construction of building projects.

Department of Architectural Engineering

104 Engineering Unit A

The Pennsylvania State University

University Park, PA 16802

Phone: 814-865-6394