Engineering faculty, staff, alumni to be honored for exceptional contributions


University Park, Pa. – The College of Engineering will recognize faculty, staff and alumni for their outstanding teaching, research, advising and service at a ceremony on Oct. 25, at 3 p.m. in the Hintz Family Alumni Center.

The annual awards are sponsored by the Penn State Engineering Alumni Society.

Ryan Solnosky, instructor and research associate in architectural engineering, will receive the Outstanding Teaching Award.

The Premier Teaching Award will be given to Themis Matsoukas, professor of chemical engineering.

Michael Janik, professor of chemical engineering, will be honored with the Outstanding Research Award.

The Premier Research Award will be given to Charles Bakis, Distinguished Professor of Engineering Science and Mechanics, and Kristen Fichthorn, Merrell Fenske Professor of Chemical Engineering and Professor of Physics.

Bruce Logan, Kappe Professor of Environmental Engineering and Evan Pugh University Professor in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, will receive the World-Class Engineering Faculty Award.

The Outstanding Advising Award will be presented to Gary Gray, associate professor of engineering science and mechanics, and Eric Marsh, Glenn Professor of Engineering Education in the Department of Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering.

The Dean’s Circle of Excellence Award recipient is Brenda Chambers, administrative support assistant to the assistant dean for academic support and global programs.

Melissa Fink, department head staff assistant in engineering science and mechanics, will receive the Outstanding Staff Award.

Wayne Gersie, associate director of the multicultural engineering program, will receive the Diversity and Inclusion Award.

The Staff Innovation Award goes to Pamela Stauffer, administrative support coordinator in electrical engineering.

Lisa Petrine, administrative support assistant in chemical engineering, will receive the Spirit Award.

The Rising Star Award recipient is Samantha Chavanic, communications strategist for architectural engineering and the School of Engineering Design, Technology and Professional Programs.

Dana Marsh, director of communications and marketing, will be recognized with the Staff Leadership Award.

The Distinguished Service Award will be presented to Robert Grottenthaler, senior vice president at Barton Malow Company. Grottenthaler is a 1980 Penn State alumnus holding a bachelor of architectural engineering degree.

The Young Alumni Achievement Award recipient is Abby Dodson, a product engineer at Lear Corporation. Dodson graduated in 2012 with a bachelor of science degree in engineering science.


Share this story:

facebook linked in twitter email




Widely acknowledged as one of the top Architectural Engineering programs in the world, the Penn State AE Department is dedicated to providing outstanding academic excellence to all of our students. The AE program is focused on preparing students and conducting research in the design, engineering, and construction of building projects.

Department of Architectural Engineering

104 Engineering Unit A

The Pennsylvania State University

University Park, PA 16802

Phone: 814-865-6394